In Honor of Dad–December 2011

Even as I prepare to say this, I realize the weakness of words when it comes to describing the heroic giant that John O’Dea was. My dad lived a large life. His laugh shook his whole body, lifting the spirits of anyone around. His heart was big enough to care for the whole world.

He was the man I looked up to all my life. After we went to the park, we would go to Baskin Robbins, 31 flavors. I would stand on my tip toes, look through the glass, amazed at all the sugary choices; then I would look up to the man next to me, and see the same childlike amazement mirrored in his big smile. On the tennis court, I would look up to my dad for his approval after a good shot. On our long walks through the neighborhood, I would look up to my dad, lingering in his quiet conversation. While sitting outside, I would look up to my dad as he called cardinals with a perfect whistle. At the movie theatres, I would look up to my dad to see if he wanted more popcorn. In the kitchen, I would look up to him as he made his famous tomato soup with peanut butter sandwiches.

July 27 2011 Phone Upload 066

No matter the situation, it was my Dad I looked up to; no man could fill his very large shoes. One of the qualities I looked up to in my dad is his gentleness. Some men in our society feel the need to be loud, aggressive, overbearing, and superior in order to demonstrate their power. Not my dad. He had the art of showing strength through gentleness. And what an art it was. In his subtle yet sure ways, my dad was there for us: driving us to and from, listening and giving advice, spending quality time with us, snuggling, quietly demonstrating his love day to day instead of just talking about it.

However, just because my dad was gentle does not mean he was a push-over. Nowhere was this more shown than in his protective devotion to my mom. Anyone who knows my dad knows that he would not tolerate disrespect or ingratitude toward my mother. When I reflect on times I fought with my mother or hurt my mother, I can hear the echo of his very familiar voice: “now go and apologize to your mother.” I bet all of his children can remember him saying those words.

My dad loved my mom. Loved her from the depths of his soul. And in the end, when my dad didn’t remember his kids’ names or trips or events or past conversations or even his own identity, there was one thing he never forgot: the care of my mother. On every trip to the nursing home I have had for the last several years, this would be what my dad would talk about:

“Dad, what do you want for Christmas?”

“I want for your mom to be healthy”

“Dad, what are you thinking about? Where’s your mind?”

“I’m just worried about your mom?”

“Dad, what can I do for you? What do you need from us?”
“I need you to take care of mom.”

Ok dad, I promise. We all promise.

I hate to end a tribute like this, because I know I will never be able to say enough about the man who was the most loving father, the most devoted husband, and the most giant hero of all time. All I can rest in is knowing we will never forget him; we will remember him in his strength and his glory; we will think of him in the call of the cardinal, the green of a golf course, the classics of Christmas time, and in each bite of sweets; we will watch over his wife like he wanted, and we will live our lives in honor of the high expectations with which he lived every day.

Image

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: lifeinthedport
  2. Trackback: lifeinthedport
  3. Trackback: tidings of comfort | lifeinthedport
  4. Trackback: tidings of comfort – Life in the Dport

Leave a Reply

Life in the Dport

Expats Abroad

A Tree On Fire With Love

But it's still scary sometimes because most people think love only looks like one thing, instead of the whole world

Curiosity Travels

"Replace fear of the unknown with curiosity."

Young Adventuress

The Solo Female Travel Blog

Young Adventuress

The Solo Female Travel Blog

teaching With "Ang-sigh-eh-tea"

The life of a teacher who struggles with anxiety and depression.

Sampa Sympatico

A Yankee Teacher's Experience of Sao Paulo, Brazil

LINDSAY JILL

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

Once Upon a Time in México

Living my dream of teaching, traveling, and discovering culture

Teach. Travel. Taste.

A peek into the life of an American teacher in Colombia

2seetheglobe

Adventures in Globetrotting

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Nomad Notions

Tales of Expat Living, Teaching, and Tramping in Taiwan and Beyond.

Sojourners' Journal

“Each of us is here for a brief sojourn; for what purpose he knows not, though he sometimes thinks he senses it. But without deeper reflection one knows from daily life that one exists for other people." —Albert Einstein

Middle East by Midwest

Observations and Experiences of Bahrain

Ex(pat) and the City

The life of a twenty-something Canadian living & teaching in Korea.

International Schools Review

ISR Blogs are open to site members and visitors alike. Your Voice Counts.

Teaching & Traveling

The Life of An International Teacher

LOVE.LIVE.LIFE.ABROAD

THE ADVENTURES OF A NOMADIC TEACHER

pedagogyofthereformed

Teaching in Brooklyn in Spite of Everything

Actively Dying

by Peter Fall Ranger

Practicing Presence

An attempt at mindfulness in life, learning, and love

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

The Educationista

Life. Lessons. Inspiration.

Words Half Heard

writing into meaning.

gadflyonthewallblog

"To sting people and whip them into a fury, all in the service of truth."

Greatfull

A snapshot of my journey to living each day with gratitude and striving to be full of greatness

Imperfect Happiness

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. ~ Mary Oliver

tspelczech

"I'm too old to live my life in fear of dumb people." - Charlie Skinner, The Newsroom

Perfectly Pleased

I take the little moments of life and write about them. Always with Love.

Cultivate Clarity

creative writing and mindfulness-based coaching, workshops, and retreats

Crawling Out of the Classroom

In everything that my students and I do together, we strive to find ways to use reading and writing to make the world outside of our classroom a better place for all of us to be

ADVENTURES ON THE YOGA MAT

writing into meaning.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

Mostly True Stories of K. Renae P.

My Adventures in Teaching and Learning

candidkay

Taking the journey, bumps and all

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Nonlinear Compilations

Parenting, teaching, writing, and learning to find beauty in the present

Education Thunk

Thoughts and musings on education as it is, was and will be.

talk from chalk

What I've learned while teaching

Thoughtful teaching

Thoughts on teaching in the modern world.

Hope, Honor, and Happiness

A blog for the book “Kingdom of the Sun” and discussions on finding the Hope, Honor, and Happiness in education, life, and the seemingly impossible.

