13.1 miles of mantras, mysteries, muffs and other musings

Methinks that the moment my legs began to move, my thoughts began to flow. (Thoreau)

For runners of long distances, the battle is far more mental than physical. This very challenge breathed down my neck as I was stuck in a very scary place for nearly 3 hours this past weekend during Moab’s Canyonland Half–and that scary place was my head. What I realized in that place is that once the start gun cracks against the morning sky, the mind runs, charging ahead like a schizophrenic Tasmanian devil.

Here is a look into the course my mental devil ran.

Pre-gunish: What a glorious day! I’m so grateful to run my 2nd half-marathon here in this stunning russet-ribboned canyon. Just treat it like that Mary…a beautiful run: no more, no less. Being here makes me miss Mom and Dad; they brought me here for the first time. I can’t look at these rocks without seeing them.

march 2014 016

march 2014 019

march 2014 018

Miles 1-2ish: This is so beautiful, it’s nothing short of worship. I feel good; wow, what a surprise! I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy. I’m not gonna lie, I’m sure grateful to be on steroids right now. Speaking of which, I hope my sinus infection goes away. How come I’m not draining more? I’m feeling so good, I wonder if I should take less walk breaks. No, Mary, you know better…conserve!

march 2014 020

march 2014 021

march 2014 022

Mile 3ish: 5k, I got this. I pray Dave has a good race. I’m so glad Julie recommended this run. I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy. I’m glad my niece and sister texted me about those things…I totally get it!

march 2014 023

Mile 4ish: Oh no, an ambulance. Get out of his way people! Man, I hope that’s not Dave in there. I should blog about how a race turns a mind schizophrenic.

march 2014 046 march 2014 047 march 2014 050march 2014 051Mile 5ish: Geez, that Cliff sign is going to blow over! It’s really starting to get windy. How come the one day in the forecast for windy weather in Moab is today?! Who can eat those Goo things anyways? It’s so much like… eww.

Mile 6ish: So much for a light downhill canyon run. This. hill. <puff puff> is. brutal. <puff puff> Oh come on. And the. <puff puff> wind. I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy. She’s bigger than me, how come she’s passing me?

Mile 7ish: Selfie!

march 2014 049

Mile 7ish: Is it pretentious to wear my shirt and medal on Monday? I want to inspire my kiddos to make healthy choices without being a show-off. Hmmm…Of course they had to make fun of  me for falling on my last run, stinkers. <giggle giggle> Man, I love my students. Thank you God for my job.

Mile 7ish: I hope my fuel doesn’t explode in my sports bra. That’s what she said. <snort> I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy. I’m bigger than her, how come I’m passing her?

Mile 8ish: Look up. Notice. Enjoy. Savor. That reminds me of China.

march 2014 052march 2014 054

march 2014 053

Mile 8ish: <flatulence> Woops, good thing the wind in the canyon is louder than the wind from my rear canyon. <snort> Ha!

Mile 9ish: I can’t believe I’m feeling this good. Something must not be right. It must be the steroids. Dave’s right…I’m just like my Mom; why can’t I just accept good things? I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy.

march 2014 058

Mile 10ish: Do you hear that? Is that drummers? Or is that my rubbing, pounding thighs? Hey, Mary, your thighs have gotten you far. And look, there are drummers. Wow, how ancient, how resonant, how cool! Oh my gosh, this is the farthest I’ve run since my first half-marathon. That disaster. And I feel so good. Thank you God. I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy. I’m going to be all emotional like Laina. Man, I love her. I’m so grateful to have such good people in my life. I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy.

march 2014 059

Mile 11ish: Wow, we’re already turning into town. Oooo, this is my jam. 1, 2, 3, 4. Uno. Dos. Tres. Quatro. I know you want me. You know I want you. I know you want me… I am singing so loudly. And yes, thank you, I am waving my hands and signaling numbers. Why do I love naughty songs so much? And I’m passing so many people; man, I’m glad I conserved! I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy.

march 2014 060

Mile 12ish: Ok, running along this road is brutal. And the wind–oh, hey, watch out for that TUMBLEWEED!!! Why is my Runkeeper not prompting me? Oh, please, tell me, you’re still with me Runkeeper!

Mile 13ish: There Dave is, waiting for me, applauding recklessly and cheering me on to the finish, after he’s finished his own tired race. That’s a metaphor. I am one lucky girl; I’m so glad we have this together. I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy.

Finish lineish: Go. Push. I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy. I feel so good. This is amazing. Crap, now I’m hooked. Take that San Diego!

march 2014 063

march 2014 065

march 2014 067

I am blessed. I am strong. I am healthy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Wheat
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 21:22:43

    But where are the muffs?? 😏

    Like

    Reply

  2. Stefani
    Mar 19, 2014 @ 07:46:28

    So. Much. Awesomeness.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: to run all 50 states | lifeinthedport

Leave a Reply

Curiosity Travels

"Replace fear of the unknown with curiosity."

Young Adventuress

The Solo Female Travel Blog

Young Adventuress

The Solo Female Travel Blog

teaching With "Ang-sigh-eh-tea"

The life of a teacher who struggles with anxiety and depression.

Sampa Sympatico

A Yankee Teacher's Experience of Sao Paulo, Brazil

LINDSAY JILL

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

Once Upon a Time in México

Living my dream of teaching, traveling, and discovering culture

Teach. Travel. Taste.

A peek into the life of an American teacher in Colombia

2seetheglobe

Adventures in Globetrotting

Nomad Notions

Tales of Expat Living, Teaching, and Tramping in Taiwan and Beyond.

Sojourners' Journal

“Each of us is here for a brief sojourn; for what purpose he knows not, though he sometimes thinks he senses it. But without deeper reflection one knows from daily life that one exists for other people." —Albert Einstein

Middle East by Midwest

Observations and Experiences of Bahrain

Ex(pat) and the City

The life of a twenty-something Canadian living & teaching in Korea.

International Schools Review

ISR Blogs are open to site members and visitors alike. Your Voice Counts.

Teaching - Traveling - Learning

The Life of An International Teacher

LOVE.LIVE.LIFE.ABROAD

THE ADVENTURES OF A NOMADIC TEACHER

pedagogyofthereformed

Teaching in Brooklyn in Spite of Everything

Actively Dying

by Peter Fall Ranger

Practicing Presence

An attempt at mindfulness in life, learning, and love

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

The Educationista

Life. Lessons. Inspiration.

Words Half Heard

writing into meaning.

gadflyonthewallblog

"To sting people and whip them into a fury, all in the service of truth."

Greatfull

A snapshot of my journey to living each day with gratitude and striving to be full of greatness

Imperfect Happiness

Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it. ~ Mary Oliver

tspelczech

"I'm too old to live my life in fear of dumb people." - Charlie Skinner, The Newsroom

Perfectly Pleased

I take the little moments of life and write about them. Always with Love.

Cultivate Clarity

creative writing and mindfulness-based coaching, workshops, and retreats

Crawling Out of the Classroom

In everything that my students and I do together, we strive to find ways to use reading and writing to make the world outside of our classroom a better place for all of us to be

ADVENTURES ON THE YOGA MAT

writing into meaning.

AFFECTIVE LIVING

Teaching. Learning. Living.

Mostly True Stories of K. Renae P.

My Adventures in Teaching and Learning

candidkay

Taking the journey, bumps and all

jenny's lark

the beauty of an ordinary life

Nonlinear Compilations

Parenting, teaching, writing, and learning to find beauty in the present

Education Thunk

Thoughts and musings on education as it is, was and will be.

talk from chalk

What I've learned while teaching

Thoughtful teaching

Thoughts on teaching in the modern world.

Hope, Honor, and Happiness

A blog for the book “Kingdom of the Sun” and discussions on finding the Hope, Honor, and Happiness in education, life, and the seemingly impossible.

Secret Teacher

Life inside the primary classroom

A Confederacy of Spinsters

Sex, Dating, and Surviving Your Twenties

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

SCC ENGLISH

writing into meaning.

